Eighth Class Response – Did I spell ‘eighth’ right?

For this response I’d like to continue some thoughts I had in a comment on Liz’s blog (reproduced here (without mentioning strip clubs) for convenience):

This idea that libraries are a sacred place and shouldn’t be filled with ads is remarkably similar to book fetishism that we’ve only briefly mentioned in class. I get this, obviously, since I want to be a librarian, but sometimes I like my reasoning to be backed up with facts instead of feelings. I guess the TPL board felt the same way since they went ahead and said they could put ads on the checkout slips.

I don’t think this is a slippery slope, though. I think it’s simply a way to get a little money in the libraries by utilizing paper space that wasn’t being used before. This is starting to sound like a rant. I think I’ll continue this thought on my blog as my class reflection.

And here we are!

I think in general we sometimes worry too much.  Kristin asked whether we’re worrying too much about libraries in class, and I was going to say yes.  I think the life of libraries is similar to that of the physical, paper book: yes, paper books are not being bought or manufactured as much in the wake of the eBook, but they will always have a place.  There will always be paper book lovers (I specify ‘paper,’ because you can totally be a book lover and only read eBooks) who will keep the tradition alive.  Also, who wants to give an eBook as a gift?  I did it once for my dad who had just received a Kindle, but it wasn’t that exciting for either party.  It’s much more fun to give or get a physical book with or without a personalized note (a fact that I had to repeat to my brother over and over again when he got me a giant hardcover book the same birthday my parents bought me a Kindle).  Also, would you let a little kid use an eReader unsupervised?  No.

Additionally, this worry about libraries disappearing along with paper books is extremely classist.  Not everyone can afford an eReader or even paper books.  Libraries were designed to be a place of learning for EVERYONE and not just for fancy pants people (myself included) who love eReaders and the Internet and Apps and iPhones and the Future and Megaliteracy.

I think I’ve posted similar ideas before (probably on the War versus not War class response), but I think they’re something we don’t address in class very often.

Thoughts?

6 thoughts on “Eighth Class Response – Did I spell ‘eighth’ right?

  1. I think you’re right that we are worrying about libraries too much, but we are (almost) all future librarians and it’s only natural to be worried about job security! I do not currently work at a public library, but I go to two different branches of the AADL, as well as the Ypsilanti Public Library and my reaction is never “Wow, this place is so dead.” In fact, I find myself grumbling because I often have to park further away than I’d like at the Ypsi library. I have a friend who works at the Canton Public Library and he was just complaining to me earlier this week about how busy they were last Saturday. So, yes, at the moment public libraries aren’t going anywhere, even though it does seem a bit scary when a library or library branch gets closed.

  2. I agree that we worry too much about libraries–from the patron end, anyway. People will keep coming to libraries, keep checking out books, keep looking up awkward things on the public computers, and keep asking librarians endless numbers of hilarious and baffling reference questions.

    The only thing we have to be afraid of is that legislators, school boards, and universities don’t necessarily know that–and they’re the ones with the money. It’s encouraging to me that every time Ohio’s evil state government slashes funding to libraries (I gather this happens elsewhere too, but I’m most familiar with my home state), there’s a huge amount of public outcry. Unfortunately it doesn’t always accomplish much. So, we don’t need to worry that nobody will come to libraries, or that they’ll fade away from lack of interest–but we need to make sure the legislators know that as well as we do, and have no excuse to take money away from the very important resource we provide.

    • I second at Esti said. It’s really interesting how “outcry” often doesn’t always lead to more money for libraries. In recession times where everyone who is making a livable wage in the government is making “too much” it’s a scary time to ask for reasonable things.

  3. I do agree that we worry a lot about libraries and about books. In some ways, I feel like we’re the boy[s] who cried wolf: we spend so much time worrying about the end of libraries as we know them, we do not always notice important trends or the changing needs of users (although I can’t say for sure, I think eBooks might be an example of this). Like my blogging cohorts, I think libraries still work (for the most part) for users. I volunteer at the Ypsi library, and that place is filled with people, seeking information about eBooks, asking how to use computers, and checking out materials. Those parts of libraries work, and perhaps, that’s the answer: we should worry less about the “fetishism” or sacredness of the library and focus more on providing the best services available.

  4. I like your notes about paper books. I hadn’t thought about gift-giving or child supervision when it comes to ebooks and I think these are valid points. I used to be a nanny and after seeing what kids can do to paper books I would hate to see what they could do to an e-reader!

  5. … following up on Laura A’s comment, check out this short clip about a father who is given an iPad for his birthday…

Leave a comment